List of Eligible Countries for the Japan E-Visa

As at of the time of writing this content, 68 countries are permitted to travel to Japan for commercial and tourism with no visa.

Whether a visitor must have a Japanese visa before travelling to Japan is determined by his or her nationality. Though there are parts of the Japanese visa policy that foreign travelers need to know before applying for the Japan online visa.

Currently, 68 countries and territories are exempt from the requirement to obtain a Japanese visa. Citizens of these countries can visit Japan and stay up to 90 days unless otherwise stated. Citizens of the European Union as well as the United States, Canada, and Mexico may travel to Japan ad stay for 90 days.

Some other countries like Austria, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany, Mexico, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland may apply to extend their stay in Japan for up to six months.

Some visa exempted countries like Thailand, Indonesia, and Brunei are given up to15 days exemption from their visa. Other countries like UAE are also permitted to spend up to 30 days without any visa. People from these 45 countries having diplomatic passports and service categories are exempted to apply for a Japan visa.

Non-Exempted Electronic Visa Countries

The Japanese government has already stated it that the electronic visa will first be issued to the Chinese. It will then be extended to other countries like Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, India, or Vietnam. The list of eligible countries has not been released by the Japanese government. Though it has been reported that tourists from South Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, and the United States can get the Japan e-visa on arrival to Japan.

Similarly, travelers of most countries in Africa, Latin America, Asia, and the former Soviet Union have to apply for a Japanese visa online before the can be gain access to Japan. Always visit this website for the latest updates on Japan's e-visa.